Australia’s House of Representatives Votes on a Climate Emergency Declaration

(From Parliament of Australia site)


Mr Bandt moved—That so much of the standing orders be suspended as would prevent the Member for Melbourne from moving the following motion immediately—That the House:

(1)    declares an environment and climate emergency;

(2)    recognises that:

(a)    the recent report of the Inter-governmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), Special Report: Global Warming of 1.5 °C, indicates that we are facing a climate emergency, and as a result, meaningful action on climate change is urgent, at home and internationally;

(b)   this IPCC report has found that the world is not on track to limit global warming to less than 1.5 degrees Celsius;

(c)    at a national level, England, France, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, and Canada have all declared a climate emergency; and

(d)   unmitigated climate change will lead to a steep increase in the severity and frequency of extreme weather events that will devastate large parts of Australia and radically impact food production, water availability, public health, infrastructure, the community and the financial system; and

(3)    notes that the Government has acknowledged urgent action is required to address climate change and calls on the Government to take urgent action consistent with avoiding catastrophic climate change, the goals of the Paris Agreement and internationally accepted science.

Debate ensued.


The House divided (the Speaker, Mr A. D. H. Smith, in the Chair)—


AYES, 65

(WECAN Achievement: Voted for Australian Climate Emergency Declaration)

Mr Albanese Mr Dreyfus Ms McBride Ms Ryan*
Dr Aly Mrs Elliot Mr Marles Ms Sharkie
Mr Bandt Mr Fitzgibbon Mr B. K. Mitchell Mr Shorten
Ms Bird Dr Freelander Mr R. G. Mitchell Mr D. P. B. Smith
Mr Bowen Mr Giles Dr Mulino Ms Stanley*
Mr Burke Mr Gorman Ms Murphy Ms Steggall
Ms Burney Mr Gosling Mr Neumann Ms Swanson
Mr Burns Dr Haines Mr O’Connor Ms Templeman
Mr M. C. Butler Mr Husic Ms O’Neil Mr Thistlethwaite
Ms T. M. Butler Mr Jones Ms Owens Ms Thwaites
Mr Byrne Ms Kearney Ms Payne Ms Vamvakinou
Dr Chalmers Mr Keogh Mr Perrett Mr Watts
Ms L. M. Chesters Mr Khalil Mrs Phillips Ms Wells
Ms Claydon Ms C. F. King Ms Plibersek Mr Wilkie
Ms Coker Ms M. M. H. King Ms Rishworth Mr J. H. Wilson
Ms Collins Dr Leigh Ms Rowland Mr Zappia
Mr Conroy  

NOES, 72

(WECAN Missed Opportunity: Voted against Climate Emergency Declaration)

Mr Alexander Mr Fletcher Mr Leeser Ms Price
Dr Allen Ms Flint Ms Ley Mr Ramsey*
Mrs K. L. Andrews Mr Frydenberg Mr Littleproud Mr Robert
Mr K. J. Andrews Mr Gee Ms Liu Mr Sharma
Mrs Archer Dr Gillespie Mr McCormack Mr Simmonds
Ms Bell Mr Goodenough Mrs McIntosh Mr Stevens
Mr Broadbent Ms Hammond Dr McVeigh Mr Taylor
Mr Buchholz Mr Hastie Mrs Marino Mr Tehan
Mr D. J. Chester Mr Hawke Dr Martin Mr Thompson
Mr Coleman Mr Hogan Mr Morrison Mr Tudge
Mr Conaghan Mr Howarth Mr Morton Mr van Manen
Mr Connelly Mr Hunt Mr Ted O’Brien Dr Webster
Mr Coulton Mr Irons Mr L. S. O’Brien Mr R. J. Wilson
Mr Drum* Mr Joyce Mr O’Dowd Mr T. R. Wilson
Mr Dutton Mr Katter Mr Pasin Mr Wood
Mr Entsch Mr C. Kelly Mr Pearce Mr Wyatt
Mr Evans Mr Laming Mr Pitt Mr Young
Mr Falinski Ms Landry Mr Porter Mr Zimmerman

* Tellers

And so it was negatived.

Leave a comment