, , , , , , ,     

National Party Leadership Spill (Feb 2020)

A leadership spill for the federal National Party of Australia was held on 4 February 2020, the day Parliament resumed for the year. It was called by the Member for Wide Bay, Llew O’Brien and followed Bridget McKenzie‘s resignation as Deputy Leader on 2 February 2020 after the Sportsrorts scandal. Encumbent leader Michael McCormack was challenged by Barnaby Joyce but retained his position. Only the whip, Damian Drum, and a scrutineer, Perin Davey, had access to the ballot papers, however several National Party members publicly declared support for Barnaby Joyce.

Candidates for Leader

Candidates for Deputy Leader

Matt Canavan and Darren Chester both declined to stand for the deputy leader position.

Related article: To Scott Morrison’s relief, Michael McCormack holds his job as Nationals’ leader – The Conversation

Leave a Reply

Close Menu