Represented by

2022 Candidates

ABC Election 2022 Guide

retiting Labor MP is Sharon Bird who has represented this seat since 2004.

covers the northern end of Wollongong City Council, running east of the
Illawarra escarpment from Helensburgh in the north to Warrawong in the south.
Traditionally a working class electorate dominated by coal mining and the
steel industry, the northern end of the Illawarra has changed in recent
years, increasingly filled with more affluent residents who commute to Sydney
for work but enjoy spending their home time closer to nature in the northern
Illawarra. The electorate covers 519 square kilometres, though much of the
electorate’s area takes in the catchment area for Sydney’s southern water

AEC Electorate Details

Demographic: Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Cunningham covers an area from Warrawong, Unanderra (part) and Farmborough Heights in the south to Helensburgh in the north. The main towns include Balgownie, Bellambi, Bulli, Corrimal, Darkes Forest, Fairy Meadow, Farmborough Heights, Helensburgh, Maddens Plains, Mount Keira, Mount Kembla, Otford, Port Kembla, Scarborough, Stanwell Park, Unanderra (part), Warrawong and Wollongong.
This description reflects local government areas in existence in 2015.