Represented by

2022 Candidates

ABC Election 2022 Guide

Chester (National) since a 2008 by-election.

the eastern 33,131 of Victoria, Gippsland is Victoria’s third largest
electorate, covering 14.6% of the state’s land surface. It stretches along
the coast from Mallacoota in the east to just north of Wilsons Promontory,
covering the East Gippsland, Wellington and most of the LaTrobe local
government areas. Main towns include Sale, Lakes Entrance, Bairnsdale,
Orbost, Morwell and Traralgon. Large parts of the land surface of this
electorate are covered by uninhabited forests and wilderness. Traditionally a
rural electorate though with significant forestry and tourism industries, the
redistribution ahead of the 2004 election gave the electorate a different mix
with the addition of industrial and mining areas around Morwell.

AEC Electorate Details

Demographic: Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.

The Division of Gippsland consists of:

  • East Gippsland Shire Council,
  • Wellington Shire Council,
  • part of the Baw Baw Shire Council,
  • part of the Latrobe City Council, and
  • the unincorporated area of Gabo Island.