New England

Represented by

2022 Candidates

ABC Election 2022 Guide

Joyce (National) since 2013, having previously served as a senator for
Queensland 2005-13. National Party Leader, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister
for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development.

electorate covers the rich agricultural districts of the New England
tablelands and north-west slopes in northern New South Wales. From south to
north, main centres include Scone, Murrurundi, Quirindi, Tamworth, Armidale,
Glen Innes, Inverell and Tenterfield. New England covers 66,394 square
kilometres or 8.3% of New South Wales and is the third largest electorate in
the state

AEC Electorate Details

Demographic: Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
New England covers an area from the Queensland border in the north to Merriwa, Aberdeen and Scone in the south. The main towns include Aberdeen, Armidale, Ashford, Barraba, Bingara, Glenn Innes, Guyra, Inverell, Manilla, Merriwa, Murrurundi, Nundle, Quirindi, Satur, Scone, Tamworth, Tenterfield, Tingha, Urbenville and Walcha.
This description reflects local government areas in existence in 2015.