Represented by

2022 Candidates

ABC Election 2022 Guide

Tony Burke (Labor) since 2004. Shadow Minister for Industrial Relations and Shadow Minister for the Arts. Manager of Opposition Business in the House.

A compact electorate of 47 sq.km in Sydney’s inner west, Watson runs generally between the Hume Highway, Canterbury Road and the M5 as far west as Stacey Street and Joseph Street. It includes the suburbs of Campsie, Belmore, Lakemba, Roselands, Wiley Park, Mount Lewis, Punchbowl, Greenacre, Croydon Park, Enfield, South Strathfield and parts of Lidcombe.

AEC Electorate Details

Demographic: Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Watson covers an area from the Main Suburban Railway, Centenary Drive and the Hume Highway in the north to the South Western Motorway, Kingsgrove Road and Canterbury Road in the south. In the east by Old Canterbury Road and Prospect Road and in the west by Fairford Road, Stacey Street, Rookwood Road, Joseph Street and Olympic Dive. The main suburbs include Ashfield, Bankstown (part), Belfield, Belmore, Campsie, Canterbury (part), Chullora, Croydon Park, Enfield, Greenacre, Kingsgrove, Lakemba, Mount Lewis, Punchbowl, Rookwood, Roselands and Strathfield South.
This description reflects local government areas in existence in 2015.